Mothers are important

Mothers are important. It’s true. I am of the opinion that mothers provide the emotional core of the family. If weren’t for a loving mother, many people would not be where they are today.

As reported by William Herndon (Abraham Lincoln’s biographer and law partner), Abraham Lincoln declared the following:

“All that I am or hope to be I get from my mother; God bless her.”

Mothers create a universal heritage for all humanity. You wouldn’t be here to read this post if it weren’t for a mother. Even if your mother wasn’t prominent in your life, more often than not, some kind and gentle soul stepped in to fill that mother’s role of love and nurturing.

Without mothers, no one would be there to kiss boo boos, make sack lunches, provide clean underwear, explain the perplexing mysteries of life like where babies come from or provide an all-in-one chauffeur, psychological, tutoring, crafting, and cosmetic service.

On this blog we try to incorporate what we feel about issues in the context of our participation in RNC’s Provo Victory Center.

Borrowing from the 2012 Platform of the RNC, I feel that this quote encapsulates what our feelings in this context.

“We are the party of independent individuals and the institutions they create – families, schools, congregations, neighborhoods – are to advance their ideals and make real their dreams. Foremost among those institutions is the American family. It is the foundation of our society and the first level of self-government. Its daily lessons – cooperation, patience, mutual respect, responsibility, self-reliance – are fundamental to the order and progress of our Republic. Government can never replace the family.”

Government can never replace the family. And, nothing can replace a mother.

Further, the tradition of a mother and a father in a stable home is a place beyond compare. I know because I am the product of such a home.

I love my mother. She is the foundation and beginning of every good thing that I have in my life. She is my compass and refuge. She is the greatest woman I know. Today, I say that I love you.

Here is final salute to all mothers who have made humanity so great.

“We love you mothers, everywhere.”

Chris Larson – Intern

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

